HomeEducationalWhat Does TV 14 Mean? PG-13 vs. TV-14 Meaning

What Does TV 14 Mean? PG-13 vs. TV-14 Meaning


Quick Overview

  • If a show or movie is Rated R, then anyone under 17 can't watch it without their parents&#8217.or adult guardians&#8217.permission, as no one under 17 is allowed to an NC-17 film.

Sometimes when you’re planning to watch a movie or series on Netflix or other platforms, a “TV-14” warning pops up. You might wonder what it’s trying to convey if you don’t know about it.

This rating descriptor is common nowadays; you should know what it means. So, keep reading the article, as here we’ll discuss everything about it and the TV Rating Scale to help you get a clear idea.

What Does TV 14 Mean?

What Does TV 14 Mean? PG-13 vs. TV-14 Meaning

TV 14 means if a program is rated this, then the program is unsuitable for all children under 14 years of age. These programs have sensitive dialogues, sexual content, graphic violence, etc., which can trigger a child under 14 years of age in an unexcepted way affecting their psychological well-being.

Some examples of the programs under this rating are:

  • Stranger Things
  • Grey’s Anatomy
  • Friends
  • Virgin River
  • Law & Order
  • The Vampire Diaries
  • This Is Us
  • Lost
  • Suits
  • The X-Files

It’s also possible that the whole series is rated TV-14 for just one episode breaching the rules and coming under this rating. However, if a show is rated TV-14, you shouldn’t allow your children to watch that.

With TV-14, you may see some other words added to notify the content type. So, it’ll be better for you to know that as well.

D: Intensely Suggestive Dialogue

L: Strong Coarse Language

S: Intense Sexual Situation

V: Intense Violence

TV Rating Scale

Apart from TV-14, some other content descriptors are available, and you should know about them too. So you can easily know what’s suitable content for you and your children.

  • TV-Y: If any show comes under this rating, that’ll be appropriate for children of all ages.
  • TV-Y7: It suggests that the show can be watched by children above 7.
  • TV-G: Content that falls under this rating is suitable for people of all ages.
  • TV-PG: These shows may contain violence, nudity, etc., so it needs parental guidance.
  • TV-MA: All the shows under this rating are suitable for adults, so they are inappropriate for children under 17 years old.

What Is PG-13?

You may have seen PG-13-rated shows and consider them the same as TV-14. But there are a few slight differences between these two; in this context, it’ll be better to know about PG-13.

PG-13 suggests that the content isn’t suitable for pre-teens under 13 children as it may contain graphic violence, drug use, nudity, etc., which can affect their well-being.

The first difference between PG-13 and TV-14 is PG-13 is basically a movie rating system, whereas TV-14 is a TV or broadcasting rating system.

The second difference is 13 years children can watch PG-13 content but can’t watch TV-14 shows.

TV-14 contains more violence, nudity, etc., than a PG-13 movie. However, as a parent, it’s on you what you want your children to watch.

How To Prevent Your Children From Viewing TV-14 Content?

You know what TV-14 means, but nowadays, most shows contain elements that fall under this rating. So, your main task is to control your children from watching TV-14-rated content.

You’ll be glad to know that in modern days, most TVs come with parental control features. So, it’ll depend on your TV model whether you can turn this feature on.

The process will also vary on your TV’s brand and model. These are the guide to turning this feature on some popular TVs.

You can apply the Parental Controls feature on three levels: Cable/Broadcasting, Your Smart TV’s App Store, and The App where you want to prevent the content from viewing.

Before, there was no feature available to block TV-14 content on Cable channels, but thanks to Smart TV, you can easily do that by making a few settings changes.

Another thing that you should know is that many different apps are available to download that provide TV-14 content, so not to let your children download that, you can lock the App Store too.

You have another option to block the content on the app itself. Suppose you don’t want your children to view sensitive content on Netflix, then you can just set up his profile to block all the content that comes under this rating.

What Does TV-14 Mean On Disney Plus?

As you know about TV-14, Disney Plus means the same. It suggests that the content is suitable for children aged 14 or above. You also get access to filters to prevent your children from watching TV-14 content in Disney Plus.

After setting up this filter, it’ll ask you to select TV-14 and TV-MA the next time you open the app. If you don’t choose anything, it’ll automatically be set to TV-14. However, you can change that later from the app’s settings.

Is Rated R or TV 14 Worse?

If a show or movie is Rated R, then anyone under 17 can’t watch it without their parents’ or adult guardians’ permission, as no one under 17 is allowed to an NC-17 film.

TV-14 is a TV channel rating point, and if any show comes under this rating, anyone under 14 can’t watch that.

Both the rating system is helpful and warns parents not to let their children watch that content, which might affect their psychological well-being.


So, this was the complete information about TV 14. Hopefully, you have a clear idea about it and understand the other rating scales. If you still need to know more, please drop your queries in the comments below.


I love surfing the web in search of different exciting things & write about Movies, News and Gadgets and that’s the reason I have started writing for itechhacks.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here