Instagram has been evolving popular over the past few years, and it has also updated its privacy features. Instagram is working on its privacy features regularly to keep user accounts secure. One of such features is that users can easily restrict someone from seeing their comments and messages. But what if someone has restricted you from seeing their messages and other content.
You will not be able to track other activities as well if someone is restricting you. Figuring out the restriction is difficult because you are not entirely blocked to see their activity. Read this guide to understand how to know if someone has restricted you on Instagram.
How To Know If Someone Has Restricted You On Instagram 2023
The restriction doesn’t mean that a person blocks you on Instagram, and you can still like their post, and others will be able to see your activities. Being restricted is quite difficult to determine and the main impact comes on comments, messages, and activity status. So, let’s move forward to know if someone has restricted you on Instagram.
Restriction On Comments
When someone restricts you, you will get prohibited from commenting on their posts. You can comment on their posts, and it will appear as usual, like earlier. Whenever you open the comment section, you will be able to see your comment. But, you are the only one who can see your comment if someone has restricted you and it will not visible to public.
It will look like nothing gets wrong with you, but the comment you made is hidden under the restricted comments option of the users who restricted you. The comment will get public only if they approve your comment. If the comment is not approved, it will get visible only to the person who commented.
Here’s how to check the restriction:
If you want to know whether your account is restricted or not, you have to take the help of your friend. You need to take their account and check the post whether your comment got public or not. If it is not appearing, it means they have restricted your account. If you are not getting your friend’s account, you can also create an alternate Instagram account and check these things.
Restriction On Messages
If someone restricts you, he/she will not receive any messages sent by you. Your messages will be pending in the Message Requests folder. Even if the person does not get any notification for your messages, they need to check it manually. You will not get any notification whether they have reviewed your message. They will also get a warning if both of you appear in the same group that the restricted person is also available in that group.
Here’s how to know whether messages have been restricted:
It is a long process to know whether someone has restricted you or not. You need to send a DM in their profile and wait for some time.
After waiting for some time, if you have not received any reply and the person is already active, it means that they have restricted your account to see the messages.
Restriction on Activity Status
In case of restriction, you will not be able to check their activity status and whether they are active. You cannot see their status about when they were online, and you cannot track when they have last seen your messages. You will be completely restricted from checking their activity status.
How to know if there is a restriction on Activity Status?
To know about their activity status, you need to make sure that you have enabled the activity status in the settings of your Instagram profile. Here’s how to do:
- Open the Profile section and open the Settings
- Now, open the Privacy Tab and tap on the Activity Status option.
- Here, enable the Activity Status and you can disable it anytime at your convenience.
- Once you have enabled this feature, just head to the Profile of the person who might have restricted you.
- Now check their latest activity, if you can see their last post or any other activity, then it is good, but if you cannot check their last activity, it means you are restricted.
You can also use a secondary account to check these things. Like, check it from your friend’s account and check the last activity from their account. You will get the proper confirmation of this issue.
So these are the ways to know if someone has restricted you on Instagram. Although it is always tough to know about the Instagram restriction, these ways can give you a perfect idea. Hopefully, this information remains helpful for you; still, if you have any queries, you can reach us via the comment section.