HomeFacts | TechHow Valorant Ranking System Works Explained

How Valorant Ranking System Works Explained


Quick Overview
  • Valorant is a popular free-to-play first-person shooter game where two teams compete in a 5v5 multiplayer mode. The attacking team aims to plant a bomb, while the defending team works to prevent it.
  • The Valorant ranking system requires players to complete 10 unrated matches before unlocking the competitive mode. There are 8 ranks with tiers that players must advance through by earning Rank Rating (RR) points.
  • Factors affecting a player's RR points include match results, round differentials, and in-game performance. MMR is a hidden rating that adjusts based on player performance in matches, determining their rank in the game.

Valorant is one of the best free to play first-person shooter games developed by Riot Games for Windows. It is a 5v5 multiplayer shooter game where the first team attacks and the second one defends. The attacking team aims to plant a bomb and kill all people in the opposite team, whereas the defending team tries to avoid it. Many newbie players have difficulty understanding how the Valorant ranking system works. If you are among them, keep reading to know it.

Most players in Valorant prefer the ranked mode. The system is planned out very well, making the rank system very stable. Also, Riot Games makes quite an effort to improve this system from time to time. Besides all these, many players are still unaware of how the ranking system works. So without any further ado, let’s get started.

How Valorant Ranking System Works 2024?

The Valorant Ranking System could be a bit confusing for newcomers. However, it’s almost similar to other multiplayer ranking systems with some differences. One major one is that you cannot just start with the ranked mode directly. You will first have to complete 10 unrated matches to unlock the competitive mode in the game.

The developers suggest players unlock the requirements in form of match competitions. It isn’t a perfect solution, but completing 10 unrated matches requires dedication and commitment.

Ranks and Tiers

There are eight ranks or divisions in the Valorent ranking system. All of them are mentioned below:

  1. Iron
  2. Bronze
  3. Silver
  4. Gold
  5. Platinum
  6. Diamond
  7. Immortal
  8. Radiant

Valorant Ranking System

The first six ranks, from Iron to Diamond, have three tiers you need to advance to get to the next rank. And the last two, Immortal and Radiant, have one tier each. There are a total of 20 ranks in Valorant.

When players finish 5 placement games in the competitive mode, they are assigned one among these ranks depending on their skill. After that, they need to grind Matchmaking Rating(MMR) by playing competitive gains. Each win will grant players with Rank Rating(RR); once you have collected 100 RR points, you will rank up.

Sometimes you may find yourself skipping a rank. When Valorant’s algorithm determines that you have much more skill than your current rank, it will automatically make you double rank up.

What affects a player’s Rank Rating in Valorant?

Some significant factors that affect a RR points are:

  • Match Results
  • Round Differential
  • Your in-game performance

If you aim to obtain a high rank in the game, try focusing on consistent individual performances. Also, secure as many rounds as you can for your team.

MMR (Match Making Rating) Explained

MMR is a hidden rating assigned to every player that increases or decreases according to the match history. A base MMR is given to every player when the win their first 10 unrated matches for unlocking the competitive mode. MMR is dependent on how the player performs in a game.

As said by Valorant, MMR is a giant ladder that consists of all players. If you win, you climb up, and others will push you down if you lose. No two players can have a tie.Valorant Ranking System

RR(Rank Rating) Explained

Every time a player wins a match, they gain anything from 10 -50 RR. Also, if they lose a game, they’ll lose around 20-30 RR. Once a player reaches the Diamond rank or higher, RR games become less, and loss increases. With every win, you’ll gain 5 RR and lose around 50 RR every time you lose.

Wrapping Up

That was all about how the Valorant Ranking System works. We hope that all your doubts regarding the ranking system of Valorant are resolved. If you still have any issues, feel free to drop a comment below.


Shubham Kumar
Shubham Kumarhttps://itechhacks.com/
Shubham Kumar is an IT graduate who has been developing digital content for websites since his freshman year. He writes about New Emerging Technologies and the latest tech news and tips. Shubham's love for technology allows him to be aware of the tiniest things and write with excellence.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here